Hong Kong skyline
7th Workshop on Hot Topics in System Dependability (HotDep'11)
27 June 2011, Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers, Hong Kong, China

08:25 a.m. – 08:30 a.m.

Opening Remarks

Program Co-chairs: Andreas Haeberlen, University of Pennsylvania; Mootaz Elnozahy, IBM Research - Austin

08:30 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Session 1: Dependable Storage
Chair: Mootaz Elnozahy

Integrated End-to-End Dependability in the Loris Storage Stack
David C. van Moolenbroek, Raja Appuswamy, and Andrew S. Tanenbaum, Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam

Scalable Byzantine Fault-Tolerant Storage
Ricardo Padilha and Fernando Pedone, University of Lugano

Lock-free Transactional Support for Large-scale Storage Systems
Maysam Yabandeh, Flavio Junqueira, and Benjamin Reed, Yahoo! Research


10:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.    Break

10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Session 2: Security
Chair: Andreas Haeberlen

TO BEnchmark or NOT TO BEnchmark Security: That is the question
Afonso Araújo Neto and Marco Vieira, University of Coimbra

Automated Vulnerability Discovery in Distributed Systems
Radu Banabic, George Candea, and Rachid Guerraoui, EPFL

Limiting Cached-based Side-Channel in Multi-tenant Cloud using Dynamic Page Coloring
Jicheng Shi, Xiang Song, Haibo Chen, and Binyu Zang, Fudan University


12:00 p.m. – 01:30 p.m.    Lunch

01:30 p.m. – 03:00 p.m.

Session 3: System and Software Reliability
Chair: Pascal Felber

Exterminating Bugs via Collective Information Recycling
George Candea, EPFL

Platform-wide Deadlock Immunity for Mobile Phones
Horatiu Jula, Thomas Rensch, and George Candea, EPFL

Enabling Sophisticated Analysis of x86 Binaries with RevGen
Vitaly Chipounov and George Candea, EPFL


03:00 p.m. – 03:30 p.m.    Break and poster setup

03:30 p.m. – 04:30 p.m.

Session 4: Architectural Support for Dependability
Chair: George Candea

Secure MMU: Architectural Support for Memory Isolation among Virtual Machines
Seongwook Jin and Jaehyuk Huh, KAIST

Transactional Memory for Dependable Embedded Systems
Christof Fetzer, TU Dresden, and Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel


04:30 p.m. – 05:30 p.m.    Poster session

06:00 p.m. – 09:00 p.m.    DSN 2011 Welcome reception
Web site contact: Andreas Haeberlen